top of page
Recent Posts

Monthly Feature for June 2017


For the last three years I've been the Fitness Instructor for EKU's Upward Bound Program. Upward Bound is a federally funded program that helps high school students prepare for college entrance. The program targets students that are low-income, or potentially first-generation college graduates. My Fitness class is a special interest course that some of the students elect to take during their stay at EKU in the summer. In the course they use the university's top notch facilities, get free instruction from a personal trainer, take group fitness courses and explore the Exercise Science Lab thanks to a very generous Dr. Mike Lane.

While the goals of the program are what originally attracted me, it is the kids that keep me coming back year after year. Not all of my experiences working with youth have been positive. However my experience with Upward Bound has been no less than uplifting. Despite being teenagers my students are enthusiastic, well-mannered, tough and fun. I certainly encourage anyone that can be a part of the program as a student or instructor to take advantage.

Search By Tags
bottom of page